My Grandmother’s Funeral: Rest In Peace Sun Dong Ho

My Paternal Grandmother passed away on April 6th in her sleep.  She was 92 years old and lived an incredible life.  She was born when Japan had Annexed Korea, went through a number of Wars (WWII, Korean War, Japan’s Annex, etc) and knew 4 languages by the time she passed.  Sun Dong Ho (or halmoni, as I called her) lived a really long life and saw more than most of us will ever see in our lifetimes.

Her funeral was on April 12th and I definitely didn’t realize how emotional I would feel.  This is the grandma that I grew up with (my maternal Grandmother was in Korea) and so it was…hard to let her go.  Before I get to mushy, I did want to share pictures of how beautiful her memorial and funeral service was.  SO many gorgeous flowers and a lot of people wishing her well on her new home in Heaven. ❤

imageimage

image

imageimage

 image

image

 image

imageimage

 image

image

image

image

image

imageimage

 image

imageimage

I took (literally) about 700 pictures that day.  I wanted to remember how beautiful the memorial and burial were and how many people who loved her came to celebrate her life on Earth and her new one in Heaven.  My Grandmother had 4 kids, 8 grandchildren and 3 great-grandchildren.  Add in all the spouses and their families…she had a huge family who loved and cared for her.  Seeing all of that made me want a HUGE family so that they always have each other. xoxo

Leave a Reply

